IGNORED

New member needing some opinions

Dadson

Hello, I’m new here and have been looking at a lot of different Z communities to figure out where I belong. I joined here mainly because of the way I’ve seen questions answered by experienced members to the non-experienced (like myself). Helpful and not condescending like I saw on another forum. A little background on me: My son has always loved classics and I took him to a classic car show earlier this year. He was hooked and wanted to do a project. So the username “Dadson”. Thought that was a fun descriptive play on Datsun. We looked at a lot of American muscle but I kept gravitating back to the early z cars. Fast forward 9 months and here we are. We bought a 72 240z out of Az and had it shipped to Tx. It was built 9/71 and is matching numbers. Some rust in usual places but is mostly original. I’m a woodworker and fixer of everything but I’m not a mechanic. So, I’m going to need some advice and “how to” on things I can’t figure out. A couple of questions to get started:

1. My interior is red and the seats are like a velour type fabric. I haven’t seen any pictures of fabric seats on other z’s. Was wondering if this was a certain package that was offered.

2. My shift knob isn’t wood like most. It is definitely old so, was wondering if it could be part of a different package. It looks like it is made from the same material as a pool ball. It isn’t a ball, it is shaped like a wooden one but clearly a different material.

3. Restomod - I am going to have to do at least 1 mod and that is an AC. From a value perspective, how concerned should I be by making some mods like AC etc. I think I really want to keep it as close to original as possible but I have to have AC in Tx.

Trey

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Have more pictures of the body? There looks like there is overspray on the door latch, was the car repainted? vertical defrosters? or is that something in the background?