IGNORED

New member, anything I must know?

calvinhg

Hello! I just joined the forum, as I'm looking to get a First Gen Z-car. I'm relatively new to this car, and would like to learn as much as I can so I know what I'm doing once I buy one. I have a few question:

First, what (in your opinion) is the best year to get? To me, older is better, so I'd rather have a 240z than a 280z, but I know they are getting hard to find... Also, I don't like emission regulations (it's just another part that will fail).

Second, how reliable are they? I know rust is a big problem. But do the L24, L26 or L28 have any major problems? What about the transmission? I want a manual, hopefully a 5-speed, though I'm not sure they were offered in the 240z.

Third, were the 2+2 260z and 280z sold in the US? I've never seen any. It sure would be nice to have, but I bet they aren't that cheap (if they even exist over here).

Fourth, I've seen a few Zs that have 5 lugs instead of 4. Has anyone done that, how expensive was it, and do you recommend it?

Lastly, is there anything else you think should be noted about the First Gen Zs?

I hope you can enlighten me, and thank you very much for your time. Cheers from Texas!

PS: Feel free to show your own Z! I'd love to read what y'all have done, how much work you put into it, basic mods you can do...

I don't believe you have to get smog on 280's in the lone star state, earlier cars are lighter, late 260 / 280s have minor changes to structure but are heavier. The best car you can get is one that is not structurally damaged, with minimal rust -  checkout "hidden rust areas" http://www.zhome.com 

Personally I like early 260s, you get the benefit of a "lower" weight (not as low as 69/70 240) but you get a little bit of an upgraded interior + can use any 240 part as the chassis is the same.