IGNORED

F54/P79 Swap Project

A while ago, I picked up an 83 ZX non-turbo and (with my recent calamity with my Z motor*), I've been working on pulling the motor with the intention of moving over into my 1977 Z. It's a stock F54/P79 combo and I'm not going to do a big time rebuild at this time, but I do want to do some clean-up and maybe some easy low hanging fruit improvements. I'm no engine expert and I'm going to have some questions for the collective along the way.

I think there was a slight head gasket issue with the engine, so one of the things I wanted to do was replace that. Here's where I am right now. Head is off and block is stripped ready to be pulled from the donor car:
P1150102.JPG

So my first question is.... After I pull the block and have it on the engine stand, I have aspirations of removing the freeze plugs and sticking a power washer into all the block orifices and blasting out as much crud as I can. Anyone want to talk me into or out of that plan? Is the installation of new freeze plugs a straight forward and reliable process? I've never messed with them in the past.

*https://www.classiczcars.com/forums/topic/62173-complete-misfire-on-three-cylinders/#comments

if you are going thru the effort, I would take it to a shop and have it hot tanked. Unscrew the block drain and check out the crud. But I guess that ups the ante a lot as far as having to tear it down. OK strike that comment about the hot tank idea.

Edited by Dave WM

Yeah, I have no reason to believe there is anything wrong with the bottom end and I'm reluctant to pull the pistons and crank. I was going to pull and replace the oil pan gasket because the old one is seeping a little, but other than that, I was hoping to not mess with the bottom end.

Oil pressure was great and no unusual noises from the lower end. I was hoping to let it be.