IGNORED

280z Auto to 5 Speed swap-- Clutch pedal height

I'm back with more questions.

I installed the pedals for my auto to 5 speed swap (just swapping pedals into original pedal box). I have a 280z master cylinder and the clevis is adjusted all the way out. My pedal is sitting at about 6.5-6.75" from the floor while the manual is calling for almost 9". 

When stroking the pedal, I bottom out on the floor before I bottom out on the master cylinder.  I was told these pedals were from a 77 or 78 280z but have no way to know for sure. Any idea what might be going on here? I'm guessing maybe a wrong pedal (are clutch pedals different over the years/models?) or the wrong master cylinder. Got the master cylinder from Rock Auto and have never had problems with wrong parts before.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

IMG_5638.jpg

IMG_5639.jpg

IMG_5637.jpg

IMG_5636.jpg

Well, unless you guys can convince me this is a terrible idea I think I solved my problem. I added about 1/4" of length to the master cylinder rod and now I'm sitting at 8.5" pedal height. Strokes quite a bit further but still doesn't bottom out the master cylinder. I think I'll add a floor clutch pedal stop and call this good. IMG_5640.jpg

I just went through this exact same situation. Couple comments...

First, there is supposed to be a rubber bumper stop to limit the "up" position of the clutch pedal. It appears to be missing on your assembly. That bumper is important so you aren't relying on the integrity of the little retainer clip that holds the actuator rod into the master cylinder to establish the up-stop.

Second, I found the same as you that the down position was not even close to bottoming out the master cylinder, even when the pedal was all the way down. And that's good... You don't want to bottom out the master.

Third, I had three masters here, and all three had different length rods. A Luk aftermarket replacement (same as what you have) was the longest.