IGNORED

Buying my first z! But need help with identifying some things in the engine.

bravemushi260z

Hey guys I am so excited to be buying my first z, I've always loved these cars and wanted to start a project car. This a 74 260z that has been sitting for about 5 years, I read Carl Beck's guide on how to get this car running, and my plan is to check the tank, change all fuel lines, change all fluids, and replace any hoses and belts, and clean up the carbs. To be completely honest with you I have never worked on a car this old or on carbs before. I am trying to identify if it has the flat tops or the SUs from the earlier zs. I dont think it's stock but if you guys could help me out with what is changed I would really appreciate it. I can't find any photos of just a stock engine to compare. It looks like the air cleaner has been replaced with a different setup but I am not sure which one.

IMG_4829.JPG

IMG_4828.JPG

The carburetors installed on the car are Weber 32/36 downdraft carburetors. The air filters on those carburetors are typical for that type. The SU carburetors are side draft. 

The fuel rail definitely isn't stock. The stock fuel rail has a return. On this car the fuel rail is dead-headed going to the carburetors, and the line back to the tank has a redneck plug on it. 

As for how long the car has been sitting, my 73 has been sitting in my garage for 11 years, and it has less dust on the engine than this car.

• Like 2

4 minutes ago, bravemushi260z said:

I am trying to identify if it has the flat tops or the SUs from the earlier zs.

1 minute ago, SteveJ said:

The carburetors installed on the car are Weber 32/36 downdraft carburetors.

As Steve replied, your 260 is yet another example of the factory flat top carbs being ditched. In your case, as was often the case back in the day, the carbs were replaced with Weber downdraft carbs. Extremely common.