IGNORED

Hello everyone, new guy here. I purchased a 1983 zx last year and haven't touched it yet due to so many projects for other people. I'm caught up enough to start building myself a car, and I want this to be my best and last one. I'm getting too old and broke down to put this off any longer. I've been a hot rod mechanic and body man for 30 years and lm lost on the Datsun with all the electronics. I guess I'm too old school and set in my ways to even want to know how it all works. I hope to get help from you guys and I'll give what help I can in other areas I'm more familiar with.

Thanks

• Like 1

If you are running your stock cam and your stock EFi is in optimal running condition, you can leave it alone.  There's a factory service manual, and what folks call an EFI bible that you'll want to look up and download, if possible.

You can ditch the stock EFI for this programmable EFi.  It's expensive but I imagine it's worth it if yours is toast.

https://zcardepot.com/products/fuel-injection-retrofit-kit-fast-efi-280z-280zx#

I'm running stock fuel injection, and stock cam on my '80ZX with a motor out of an '82(same as yours, flat top pistons) but with the head shaved for high compression. I'm too broke after new suspension/brakes/engine/transmission to spring for the programmable EFI, or I'd totally go that route. 

Loads of options for modifications.  Truthfully, if you can build a small block Chevy, you shouldn't have any trouble with these.  The electronics can be troublesome, but it's manageable. Do you have the automatic climate control?  I've heard they can be problematic. 

These cars are very dependable, as long as it's not totally abused and/or rusted out.  The main reason I've done any modifications is just for the fun of it.  It was a 210.000 mile daily driver before I tore everything apart, and still is even now. 

Post up some pictures when you get a chance.  This site fields the most comprehensive group of Z car enthusiasts anywhere.