IGNORED

DIY: How to Recover Your Z Seats - LOTS OF PICTURES

Hardway

In response to questions and requests on how to recover Z car seats I thought I would put together a post outlining my experience when recovering the driver seat in my ’72 240z. The job took me around 8 hours from start to finish but I worked in 1 or 2 hour increments. Stretching and fitting the covers is the hardest part and will give your hands, arms, and shoulders a workout. This is a job that anyone can do and is a worthwhile job to tackle yourself as many shops can charge $300 - $500 in labor to recover a single seat. The key is to take your time and walk away if you get frustrated or tired and constantly check your work to see how everything is fitting. If you are not happy with how things are looking, stop where you at and see what you need to do to correct the issue. *Please note, I am not an expert or professional of any kind and this is the first seat I have ever recovered. This is written as a guide and your situation may be different. I am not responsible for any damage or injuries caused by someone taking on this project. If you doubt your skills or capabilities in doing this job please contact a professional.

Materials

Synthetic Leather Seat Covers from Ebay - $200 shipped to my door

New Seat Foam Sets from Classic Datsun - $310 shipped to my door

100pk of hog rings from Amazon - $7 shipped to my door

Semi-gloss black Krylon spray paint - $6 at parts store

15ft roll 1/4 inch thick foam - $15 at local fabric store

3M Heavy Duty Spray Adhesive - $8 from Home Depot

Tools

KD-Tools Hog Ring Pliers 2pk, straight and 45 degree from Amazon - $36.81 (These are totally worth the money and very well made)

Needle Nose Pliers

Traditional Pliers

Channel Lock Pliers

Heavy duty wire cutters

Assortment of flat head screw drivers

Assortment of Phillips head screw drivers

Small hammer

Socket Set

Assortment of medium sized clamps

Utility knife with new razor blade