IGNORED

Rebuilt engine won't "first" start

CaptainMajestic

Hi everyone!

So over the past year and a half I have torn my 1974 260z with an L28 and flat top carbs down to it's rusty britches and done my best to get her nice and shiny. This is my first project car, so I probably have no idea what i'm talking about. However, I have not been able to get the car to start and I am pretty stumped, even though the car ran when I bought it. FYI, I did disassemble the engine, clean it up, refresh it with new timing stuffs etc, and put it back together citing the FSM almost religiously. I also have been wiring the car myself using the speedway 22 circuit harness + some custom over engineering bits.

So far:

• Brand new battery
  • Engine turns over
  • Spark plugs have spark
    • plugs are 1-5-3-6-2-4 CCW on the distributor, with 1 on the radiator side and on the cap spot with the extra line.
  • fuel pressure somewhere between 4 and 5 psi (my gauge is cheap)

https://photos.app.goo.gl/GuQMgZK5M82v27q36

I can get the engine to spit with starter fluid, but won't get past sputtering. My guess is there might be an issue with the carbs, but I have no idea how to proceed with debugging.

Also, is it normal to be able to crank over the engine by hand when the spark plugs are in it? I don't remember being able to do this when I first put the engine back together.

Thanks!

Edited by CaptainMajestic

You could pull the feeder lines off the carbs and see if they are supplying fuel when you spin the motor.  My experience with the first crank has always been the distributor timing.  Loosen the hold down clamp and have someone crank the car over and turn the distributor to see if it'll crank.  Good luck.

2 hours ago, CaptainMajestic said:

Hi everyone!