IGNORED

Engine won't start

MinimumSafe

Hi guys! I have an issue I was wondering yall could help me out with. I recently bought a 1971 240z in pretty great condition. Everything ran well when I got it, and the owner showed me the paperwork of all the work he's done. From what I know and how it looks, it's pretty solid.

I left for the military, and came back, and now it wouldnt start. It cranks over a bit like how a weak battery tries to start, so I went out and got a new battery. It cranks harder, but it still won't go. I am a straight up novice with this vehicle, so any help would be appreciated. From what I know you need air, spark, and fuel?

A buddy of mine tried to start the car while I was away by pulling the choke all the way back, pumped the gas several times, and turned it over. I was wondering if this might be the cause? I'm on leave right now so if I can get it to turn over and drive it for a bit...that would make my day. 

Thanks

Edited by MinimumSafe

How long were you away with the military - a month, three months, four years? 

How clean & tight are the connections on both ends of your battery cables?

Are you getting fuel flow at the carbs?

Power to the spark plugs?

Dennis

Edited by psdenno

If you shoot a little starting fluid into each carb throat, will it fire over? It may be the fuel evaporated out of the carbs. It is hard to prime the fuel lines with the starter. Easier if the car fires over a couple of times...

ç≈

14 minutes ago, MinimumSafe said:

I was on the east coast for around 5 months!

I cleaned the battery cables pretty good, so that shouldn't be a problem I don't think. 

Fuel flow at the carbs and spark plugs.. I'm an idiot. Any quick 101?