IGNORED

240z swap question

sirtimeless

It will bolt on, but I believe that the stock valves on the E88 are smaller than what is needed for the L28. I know that if you want to use an E31 head you have to have larger valves installed. Some of the E88's may have come on the L26 and have bigger valves. Do a search for oversized valves and I suspect you will find your answer.

That's fine, I just did my notorious "fixing up a stock setup and not looking into upgrades first" deal again. So i have a redone head with only 300 miles on it :P Would like to not have to junk the money spent.

Any more information into this would be fantastic, I am new to my Z and have all winter to finish her up.

This engine parts calculator will give you some ideas. The numbers seem to be mostly correct. You can look at any FSM's Engine Mechanical chapter to check things like valve size, although apparently there were several E88 head versions so you might have to do some digging to get combustion chamber volume. Don't forget that there are two basic types of "L28", those with dished pistons and those with flat-tops. Z L28's and ZX L28's (US market).

Engine Design Utility

p.s L28 Late would be flat-tops, and L28 Early and Turbo would be dished. 1.25 is a good estimate for gasket height.

• 2 weeks later...

You should do some checking on the E88 head. There are 4 different versions of the E88. Its really had to find accurate information about them on the net and the Nissan parts manual/fishe aint much help either.

1. The first E88 is pretty much identical to the E31 and came out somewhere around june 71 in the series II 240Z. It also had 42.4cc and the 33mm exhaust and 42mm inlet valves.

2. The second (I think series III, october 71 onwards) had minor port runner improvements and still had 42.4cc chambers.