IGNORED

Suspension Work for '78 280Z

Davey G

I'm new to Z cars, working on my first:D. This one feels like it's got '78 suspension parts...all of them shot to hell:ermm:. So refurbing them is first thing I'll do. What should I expect to replace/change to put it back to a good street ride, and what will it cost me? Anything weird to look out for or that needs to be better than OEM? I'll move to interior from there.

Try looking at ArizonaZcar.com for one place that has better than OEM parts. Alot of them are race but some of thier things are actually good as replacements for stock but let the pros here chime in on what you really need to do. Plan on replacing all your bushings, if you use Polyurathane you need stiffer springs to shorten the suspension travel or you'll snap the tie rods. Or just rubber bushings on the tie rods instead.

Edited by WingZr0

Today 08:04 PM

Davey G

Suspension Work for '78 280Z

I'm new to Z cars, working on my first. This one feels like it's got '78 suspension parts...all of them shot to hell. So refurbing them is first thing I'll do. What should I expect to replace/change to put it back to a good street ride, and what will it cost me? Anything weird to look out for or that needs to be better than OEM? I'll move to interior from there.

I just redid my suspension a few months ago with anther member on this forum (Dave). If you just using it as a street car then you'll probably just need new struts, most member use Tokico or KYB; bushing kit, most use urethane; lowering aren't a necessity but are nice.

I bought my Tokicos (blues) on Ebay for $227 (57 a strut) with free shipping. MSA urethane kit is around 190. Then lowering springs are 180-230 at MSA. I used the Eibachs and so far like them.

If you just using it as a street car then you'll probably just need new struts, most member use Tokico or KYB; bushing kit, most use urethane; lowering aren't a necessity but are nice.