IGNORED

Newbie from California....

Hi. My name is Pat. I live in Granada Hills CA. I am about to buy a 78' 280z this weekend that i found in craigslist.

I don't know about 280z's at all. I'm new to Vintage Cars. This will be my first time. I know how to work on newer cars, but not on older ones.

Looking forward to learn everything on the Z with you guys.

And meet with the fellow members...

Thanks

I can't wait to get the car. The person is selling his car for $1500.

Here are the problems...

leaking fuel rubber hose near the gas cap. Cracked dash and seats. cracked exterior paint, couple rust spots, broken windshield.

The good...

has A/C, no oil leaks or any leaks at all.

body is straight. no accidents.

Is it worth the price?

Hard to tell without pics. Depends on the severity of the rust. If its just a few spots of surface rust, then no big deal. But if there is a rust on the frame rails or floor pans, this could be a major expense. I would say if the rust is minimal its a good deal. Everything thing else you listed can be easily dealt with.

Good luck with the purchase! Also check under the battery for rust, that is another common spot (at least on the 240's) but thankfully the previous owner of my car installed a plastic tray years ago

If your Craigslist is anything like up here, there always seems to be a steady flow of Z parts. It's not a huge amount but there's a handful of fresh posts everyday if you're looking for used parts

yeah thanks i will look forward to that. The seller told me that whenever he fills up the gas tank, the gas leaks on top of the tank. he said it's the gas pipe that needs to be replaced. Is this a rubber hose?

Is this easy to replace?