IGNORED

Question of ethics

onuthin

I have been pondering whether it is ethical or not to warn others in the club if I was to offer unsoliceted information regarding z cars listed on ebay that I have personaly looked at and know for a fact they are not even close to being what they are described as. I have been asked to look at a few in my area and told the member what I thought the car was worth and to deccribe what I saw.The few times I did this the cars were in bad shape and the member did not bid on the cars.I feel I did a service to these members.I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination but I do have a lot of knowledge of z cars and I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express once.I would never mislead anyone intentionaly so I could purchace a car myself.I guess the question is should I inform the club if I see red flags all over a car for bid without being asked?

I think it all depends on the circumstance. If it is a grandmother or some unknowlegable person selling the Z and they say "no rust" then maybe it's just ignorance. If someone makes very specific claims on areas of the car which could cost a lot of money then they should be held accountable if they are misleading. (Floor pans perfect, frame rails, zero rust, etc)

Regardless I think the seller if confronted should change his ad or accept being exposed. This is fair if done in a clinical non-slanderous fashion and would be doing a service to others. It would be even better if you were to back up such claims with pictures.

The only grey area is one's subjectivity and perceived value. They aren't making 240 -***Z's anymore. Who's to say what price should be asked. The real issue is honesty in the sale.

Jim