IGNORED

'73 240z flat top carbs dilemma

Dadsun

Hi, all. I'm new to the Z community, but apparently jumped in with both feet... My first Z car is in that narrow range of '73 240z that has the original flat top carbs. Bought this from the original owner a couple of weeks ago. 

My dilemma:

As a newbie, do I try to sort out the flat top tuning and ongoing babysitting (as I've been told to expect), or do I opt for:

Option 2: ZTherapy carbs conversion to their $1300 "bulletproof" modified round tops. Pricey but probably the best long term option to keep close to original. 

Option 3: Weber DGVs in the $800+ range. Heard very mixed things. 

As for me, I'm pretty handy, but never had to tune a carb before. I've watched a YouTube on the flat tops. I'm game if I can get and stay on top of them, but if I truly have to continually tune them long-term then no thanks. 

Edited by Dadsun

If your goal is to be true to originality, option 1 is the way to go.   A long time member who lives close to me spent the time about 3 years ago restoring and sorting a set of flat tops for his 73.  He has had no issues since as far as I know and has no regrets on the move.   Maybe he will chime in  @Zup

Option 2 is of course the easy solution and can be done for much less is you source a roundtop set for Ztherepy to rebuild.

Option 3 will not get much support from members here.  The side draft webers are a totally different story.

• Like 1

Welcome, If you restore the flattops to a new state i think just ones doing a tune-up should work.. Investigate if you can get al the new rubber parts etc. to restore them properly..  Tuning these flats is a bit more labour intensive but once done the right way (service manual!) it should work well... i think.. ? 

2 hours ago, Dadsun said:

Well, y'all are giving me some encouragement to try to hang with them. Not to mention the Z therapy prices are steep. 

@motorman7, I'll set aside time to read through that long thread of yours.