IGNORED

R200 Comparison

Blitzed

Hi All,

Happy 2020! Recently acquired two Datsun R200 diffs. I'm a novice with Z the drive train configs so bear with me.

The diffs are the same gear ratio. One has the input yoke listed below as DAT 110 and half shaft flanges on each side.

The other has the input yoke listed as DAT 110 300ZX with no half shaft flanges. Both are round input yokes, one smaller than the other. 

In addition to the yoke comparison below, how can I determine which Z these diff's came from, Z31 or Z32.  Serial numbers ?

If the assumption (based on the image below) one is from a 280ZX and the other is from a 300ZX, is one diff preferred or better over the other? Reason I'm asking is only one will be completely rebuilt. Would like to spend the money on the preferred diff and keep the other for the ring set.  

Also will acquire CV axles for the best rebuilt diff. Is one diff better for with less modifications and less money to convert to CV's ? 

73 240Z stock rear suspension config. 

Thanks for the advice. 

dIFF.jpg

Nissan went to the short nose R200 in 1985, when they went to the rounder 300ZX body shape.  And the DAT-110-300ZX pattern shown in the picture was also used for one 280Z year, in the 1975 280Z.  The fact that the axle shafts are gone could be for several reasons. Somebody could have taken them to use in a diff that came with CV half shafts.  Look down the axle holes and see if the retainer circlips are inside.  If they are it might be a 75 diff.  If they aren't it's probably an 85 or beyond.

They'll both work in your car but the one with the axle shafts is probably easiest to get in there.  I don't think the ring set alone is really worth much, except as garage art.

Edited by Zed Head

Hi Zed Head,

Our mind sets are the same with the diff "low budget with high value". Both are long nose carriers and appear to be the same size. I'll check for the retaining clips or clip grooves in the axle holes of the Yoke size DAT-110 300ZX.