IGNORED

rotella t4 oil

kully 560

spoke to Rotella this week and they suggest to now use there Rotella t4 10w-30w diesel oil in the z cars because of the higher 1200 ppm zinc content,that is better to use with the overhead cams.  it is because the new diesel engines do not need as much cleaning agents anymore with the new emission they carry.  just would like to see the forum thoughts.

Edited by kully 560

I haven't tried it yet in a Z, but the diesel engine oils tend to have more detergents anyway which could help clean up an older engine. Although sometimes that can cause more harm than good...

I have been running Rotella in my ski boat's V-8

I've been using the Rotella 15w 40 in my Z for the last 3 yrs with no complaints.  The previous owner ran Rotella 20w 50 in it. Who knows what before.   I believe the bottom end is original with 60K on the speedo while the head had been serviced at some point before my purchase with some valve replacements. Cam and lash pads still look good.

I finally found the article that swayed me over.  Opinions on oil are like buttholes, everybody has a better one. LOL  

It came in 7th and is way cheaper than the other six.  I change my oil often.  It's easy and like an x-ray of the motor, in my opinion.

http://www.chevelles.com/forums/13-performance/448385-zddp-values-high-zinc-oils.html#/topics/448385

Edited by siteunseen

I use to use the defy but no longer able to get it .so I looked on the quaker state site and no longer made. that is what led me to the rotella t4 oil. I believe the quaker state high mileage oil is what replaced it and when I called them I think if I remember right the zinc was about 800ppms.

Edited by kully 560
  • Like 1

The ZDDP kills  Catalytic converters  is just another example  of " Internet misinformation " or  " Partial information ". Catalytic converters are a consumable product. Just like Brake pads or Clutches. Thye have a finite Lifespan.  Alway have... alway will have.