IGNORED

Newb to Z's. 280 value question.

Hello all. I'm new to the vintage Z scene and now I'm hooked. I've been through various "transportation" phases including watercooled VW's, the custom Harley scene and mildly modding my Nissan Titan. I was searching for a project (thought I wanted a Corvette, yikes!) when I stumbled upon a Jalopnik tunnel video of a 240Z. Oh the sound! I researched a bit further and damn if the early Z cars aren't as timeless as any vintage Ferrari, Porsche or Euro exotic made.

So I gotta have one! Anyway I found a 77 280Z about 20 miles away. New paint within a year (correct paint code white) as well as exhaust and brakes. Seller claims it's rust free and he used it and continues to use it as a daily driver. Has AC, but needs a recharge and no dash cracks. I've been negotiating via email for a few days and he's pretty firm on his asking price of $4200. Without pics or having seen the car anyone have thoughts on this asking price? I'd love to have this car but would also like to save a few bucks. I'm not afraid of a car that needs some work so I could continue to look. I'm a custom metal worker by trade and own a large shop with just any tool you'd need.

Thanks and look forward to having lots of Z related questions and new stories.

The interior is the hardest part to get nice on these cars without spending a lot of money. Motor pieces are available and you'll have lots of options, but for that price I would want a good clean rust free (meaning no long-term leaks in the past) interior. If you have pictures, post them.

I agree, a 280Z is a great car with many fans. Look at it and look at it again. Be diligent. A daily driver Z with no rust sounds a bit like a magical car. Check the usual places.