IGNORED

Gunk or something in gas tank!

Decoy12

Hello everyone, Z newbie here again requesting help. I got my Z running again although it was running very, very poorly. I bought it back in December and it had been sitting since '03. The previous owner said there was old gas in the tank and so I drained it, filled it back up and after changing everything from the plugs to all the 'pumps' in the engine bay, I ran it for a while. I recently changed my fuel filter because my Z was not running, seeming to be starved of fuel (delayed response when stepping on gas, 'choking' and jerking when I floor it.) Anywho... I was very surprised (not in a good way) when I removed the fuel filter I put back in December, when I noticed it weighed about a quarter pound. Inside there is all this build up of gunk or something. It is brown and it almost looks like modeling clay, although it is soft like a paste, probably because it was mixing with the fuel. I know I need to clean out my tank, but I was wonder if:

1. Anyone knows what this gunk side is? and

2. If it would be an easy DIY to clean out the tank?

Thanks in advance for all of your help!

Agreed.

If it's been sitting and you can see settling in the filter, it's probably in the lines: if it's in the lines, it's probably in the tank.

You run the risk of sucking it up and clogging the lines even further or completely.

Supposedly, a radiator shop will accept it and should be able to 'boil out' the gas tank for a reasonable amount of money.

I went through this on my recently purchased Z that sat for a long time. I dropped the tank and tried to drain the gunk, after a week upside down and spraying with various things it was obvious it wasn't all coming out. Paid $100 to have it cleaned at the radiator shop and lined with POR15 tank liner.