IGNORED

280Z bumpers on a 280ZX?

jstamps

Hello everyone. I recently inherited my former father-in-law's 1981 280ZX. It's in pretty good shape with a few body dings and dents and very minor rust. I asked my wife what she wants to do to the car and of course she Google searched some pictures and found a few 280Zs and fell in love with that picture. The biggest holdup I see right now is the early 80s bumpers on the ZX. If I can find one, could I put a 280Z bumper onto the ZX? I have no experience in doing a lot of work with cars so in a perfect world, I would love to find something that is easy to swap or bolt on.

Also, are there any other shared body parts between the Z and the ZX? I may need to replace some mirrors and some interior door panels, etc..

I don't believe it will be an easy swap. I have not heard of anyone doing it. Noyt saying it's not possable, but I doubt it will be an easy modification.

Which version of the 280Z did you have in mind. They came with two variants. 1975 to 1976 and 1977 to 1978.

The most common bumper swap is the 240Z bumpers on a 280Z. That is a relative easy swap because both the 240Z and the 280Z are both S30 chassis variants. The 280ZX is the S130 chassis

• Agree 1

17 hours ago, jstamps said:

are there any other shared body parts between the Z and the ZX?

As the 240/260/280z is a s30 and a 280zx is a s130 chassis, very little (bolts and other small things) are the same..

As Chas said: those bumpers are not interchangeable i think as the s130 is wider..  i think..?  Also they will not fit into the indentations of the body..

• Like 1

these guys make custom fab parts for S30 and S130. Spendy but good.  You have a Z, so you will get used to buying expensive parts haha.  I have their rear diffuser on my ZX with stock bumpers. 

https://skillard.com/product/datsun-280zx-front-bumper/?doing_wp_cron=1666443077.2546410560607910156250