IGNORED

280z Head Disassembly?

moozieman

I've been tackling a lot of problems with my 78' 280z's inconsistent idle and timing, etc... I recently ran some seafoam through my system to try to clean any gummed up lines or pathways that might be causing issues with fuel. I actually ended up discovering something else that makes me feel that my issues might be due to vacuum leaks. I found white smoke that appears to be leaking from in between the intake manifold and the engine block. I'd imagine that this could pose a significant cause for my vacuum issue. I plan to remove the intake and exhaust manifolds to replace that gasket and hope that might solve my issues. But I started thinking... if i'm going so far as to disassemble the entire side of the engine block to replace a manifold gasket, it'd probably be the ideal time to go one step further and replace the head gasket as well. I found instructions for disassembly, but i'm a beginner and was hoping to get some advice... Once i have the head removed to replace the gasket, is there anything else I should plan on doing? As far as upkeep or cleaning inside? Like I said, I'm new to this, so if there's anything more I might be able to do, I'd like to do it now while everything is apart. Lemme hear your thoughts.. Thanks!

Check chain slack. You may move the sprocket to the next hole or replace all that while you're at it. New head bolts too. Hopefully you won't snap one of the old ones. A lot more to say but I'm on a quick break now. Others will chime in.

I'd get the tom monroe how to rebuild L motors book from Amazon. Best $20 you'll spend.

• Like 1

44 minutes ago, Mark Maras said:

I'd do a compression check before pulling the head. If the compression is good, I wouldn't open that pandora's box. 

Wait. Wouldn't a leaky manifold gasket result in low compression? I'd have to put everything back together anyway to test compression.