IGNORED

Crankcase Vent Tube Removal???

SSuspect

Hi all,

I am almost ready (still need to set up the SU's) to drop the '83ZX L28 into the 240, but had a question about the vent tube.

The L28 tube is capped at the end with a smaller tube sticking out from the side. The 240 tube is open at the end and has a small tube coming from it. They are obviously different and the L28 tube gets in the way of the carburetor heat shield.

I need to swap these out, but have no clue how to remove them. I do not want to damage them in the process. Can somebody give me a few pointers?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

Tim

I am by no means an expert, On my Z's the fitment has been simply a friction fit into the block. IIRC, I used a pair of channel lock pliers and carefully rotated the metal vent tube to remove it from the block.
Isn't it just a rubber hose with a clampless seal? I know some people put clamps on them, but a new tube usually eliminates the need for a clamp.

Thanks guys - I think that rxsleeper has it...

Here is a pic of the tube I am referring to. This is the L28.

Cleanup4small-1.jpg

I will try to mess with it tonight when I get home. Any other feedback is appreciated!

Tim

Same thing as rxsleeper says except I use robo grip plier with rubber 'robo guards' over the teeth to avoid scraping the tube or whatever I'm trying to remove.

Perfect - Thanks for the confirmation Stephen! I'll post an update when I get it successfully swapped over.

Thanks again!

Tim

This L24 tube was removed with nothing more than my hand ( might have been previously removed?). When refitting clean the mating surfaces well and use a high temp sealant such as used on frost plugs, to help prevent leakage or loosening.

I tap the mounting end opening with a tapered cylindrical wedge to make sure it's not out of round and then it fits tightly without the need for sealant.