IGNORED

Aerodynamic Study: Spoilers & Blunt Nose and Under cover

kats

Hi, 

For someone who is interested in aerodynamics of our S30 cars, here is a thesis made by Nissan engineers in May 21st 1971.

Aerodynamic Study on Passenger Car Body Configurations / Michio TAKEI,   Hikota SAKAMOTO,  Kazuhiko YOSHIYUKI.  

The effects of G-nose and spoilers are quite noticeable, 7 pages of this thesis is worth to read. I'm not an engineer so some of the numerical formulas are unable to understand but the figures and illustrates work easy for me.

So, I tried to show one of their data. Those numbers in pictures are excerption from the thesis. The only thing which I am not for sure is the data of Clr for the rear spoiler only configuration. It shows 0.007, it is too small isn't it?    

By the way, Mr. Uemura told the story of naming our G-nose in his book. "Blunt-Nose", Mr. Yoshiyuki and Mr. Uemura felt it was a cool name of NASA's Blunt-Nose cone which was attached on top of the satellite. They named their nose extension kit after the NASA's Blunt -Nose but the Sales department worried about that people would not understand what it would be. Finally "Grand- Nose" was used.

Kats

スクリーンショット (216).png

スクリーンショット (196).png

Edited by kats
  • Like 3

2 hours ago, kats said:

By the way, Mr. Uemura told the story of naming our G-nose in his book. "Blunt-Nose", Mr. Yoshiyuki and Mr. Uemura felt it was a cool name of NASA's Blunt-Nose cone which was attached on top of the satellite. They named their nose extension kit after the NASA's Blunt -Nose but the Sales department worried about that people would not understand what it would be. Finally "Grand- Nose" was used.

Great data Kats. Thank you for posting.

About the 'Blunt Nose' vs 'Grande Nose' story: I think there was always a little bit of confusion mixed up with the 'Blunt' nose naming, possibly not helped by Japanese vs English language meanings. 'Blunt' vs 'sharp'.