IGNORED

Hoarding Z Parts

inline6

I've been restoring a 240z for over 4 years now, and in that time, I have been having fun collecting parts for it.  It seems to me that there is a fun aspect of this car hobby that comes from finding and obtaining old Datsun parts.  I suspect there are many of us here who are "hoarders", those who engage is this aspect of the hobby and who have collected either a large amount of Z parts, or perhaps, some amount of quite valuable Z parts?  Or, both?  

So, who are you on the spectrum?  Are you focused on collecting parts for just one car... or do you have a hoard to be envied in either its massive size, or high value?  And please share some description or pictures of the discontinued/rare exceptional parts you have.  

• Agree 1

Now that the Z is done, I really have no desire to hoard parts.  As long as consumables remain available to keep it on the road, that's enough.  This is my fifth and final 240Z I'll own.

I'd much rather see my spare parts in circulation going towards other enthusiast's restorations than being stockpiled to be estate liquidated after I'm dead.    

20201018_122423[1].jpg

• Agree 1

I don't maintain much of a stock of Nissan parts, but there are many parts I keep in stock, either for my cars or to help other people with their cars. I did buy a bunch of combo switches about 10 years ago that I have used for parts and to help others keep their Zs lit up.

Then again, I'm not striving to do a restoration like yours. I am more of a person who enjoys keeping them running.

• Like 3

16 hours ago, inline6 said:

collected either a large amount of Z parts, or perhaps, some amount of quite valuable Z parts?  Or, both?  

I drove my first Z in 1991 (280zx) and 6 weeks later bought a 240z.. that one was a mess.. so after some time i took it apart and stored all the parts on the attic. I still have some of them. Since the later 90's i'm a visitor of the local marketplace with DATSUN as the search word..