IGNORED

Ignition Coil Exploded!!

Reid280z

Hey y’all I’m fairly new to the z community as I picked my z up just a couple months ago. I’ve been trying to diagnose an issue and I think I found it when my coil exploded in front of me. The po bypassed the ballast resistor and now I’m trying to replace the coil. I would be ok with an internal resistor but does the primary and secondary resistance change or is it the same spec? I can’t seem to find any at local auto part stores so what should I order?

13 minutes ago, Zed Head said:

What year Z and is the ignition system the factory stock parts or has it been modified?  Primary resistance is your main concern.  Welcome.  Most people don't get exploding parts to help them diagnose a problem.

So it’s a 77, it has upgraded 280zx turbo injectors due to a performance cam, and it has megasquirt on it. And yea between the ignition coil and fusible links it was an interesting series of events.

31 minutes ago, heyitsrama said:

I swapped mine out with a blaster 2 MSD coil, youll need a smaller bracket to mount it up. It works good, i got shocked pretty hard by it one time.

😂 well I guess that’s one way to make sure it works. 

• Haha 1

3 hours ago, Captain Obvious said:

LOL 

So you can test it by having it shock you to see if it's working.

And if it's blowed up, it's probably NOT working.

Mental notes. Got it.

My theory is the fusible links blew as a result of the charge thrown through the harness from the coil when it exploded.  Feasible? 

31 minutes ago, chaseincats said:

My theory is the fusible links blew as a result of the charge thrown through the harness from the coil when it exploded.  Feasible? 

Yea that’s what I’m thinking happened. I guess I’ll see once I replace the coil.