IGNORED

Where are the relays in the electrical drawings.

Trimpe.bob@gmail.com

Hello, I’m a new forum member. I recently picked up a nice 73 240Z that I plan to swap in a later turbo motor. I am new to Datsun and Z, but have been working on vintage cars for a long time! my question is: 

There are several relays mounted at the passenger side kick panel. I cant locate any of these on the electrical drawing I have. See attached. I have looked at several drawings but they are all almost identical. Am I missing a drawing, or a piece? I’d like to ID these relays and understand how they fit into my cars controls. I also have seen mentioned a “power relay”. Where is this on the car, and in the drawings? What does it do?

im looking forward to building and improving a great car, and this looks like the place for info and advice!

regards,

Bob t.

ColorWiring240Z-1973-USA-Manual.pdf

Edited by Trimpe.bob@gmail.com

Have you looked at the EE section of the 73 FSM? It's available on this website. Go to Resources and then Downloads. Also you probably have found the relays for the factory authorized/designed modification to add the electric fuel pump in the 73. I think the documentation on that is floating around in the downloads section, too.

Ah! Thanks, Steve.  I looked at the drawing in the FSM and it is a little more enlightening. (page attached; sorry, couldn’t figure out how to rotate it!) I found the horn relay, ACC relay, rear window defroster relay, throttle opener relay. 

im guessing that the ACC relay is the “power relay” I’ve seen referenced?

is there a document that shows the physical locations of these relays?

car does have an electric fuel pump. I am very interested in locating this one before I REALLY need it! I’ll poke around some more in the resources section for this info.  

Regards,

bob t

Open BE Body Electrical.png