IGNORED

Trouble Downshifting to First Gear?

red67

Newbie here. I recently purchased a 1971 240Z with a later model 5-speed trans..  Shifting into first is somewhat of a crapshoot, sometimes no problem, and more often it just does not want to go in, period. I've  had to take off in 2nd, if I'm at a light, which I do not like to do! I've done some searches, and come up with bleeding slave units and such. Just thought I would bounce it off you guys, before I started. Thank You!

Does it grind or does the lever just not move?  Also, does it go in to reverse easily?  Reverse is the true test of your clutch since it does not have a synchro.

Might just be worn bushings on the shift lever, letting things get out of alignment.

Goes into reverse easily!  First is only issue. No grinding, just won't go in.

With engine off and clutch down:

Try going into second (and push hard home) then try getting into 1st.

If it works: try again with engine running.

If not working at all: S14a time!!

1 hour ago, red67 said:

Goes into reverse easily!  First is only issue. No grinding, just won't go in.

Could be something to do with the check and interlock balls.  Balls that are pushed in to notches to keep the gears in the correct place.  I think that you can check those without removing the transmission.  EuroDat knows more @EuroDat

image.png

I had a similar problem with a Ford transmission and while I was figuring out a solution I would just match speed and RPM when approaching a light to get in to first and just sit there with the clutch pedal down.  You've probably considered it already but just in case.

The solution wouldn't apply to your problem, it's a design problem with the Ford (actually Mazda) transmission I think.  In that case changing fluids to Pennzoil Synchromesh worked.  I've never heard of anyone having your problem though.  It seems mechanical, maybe a broken synchro or a jamming ball.