IGNORED

1971 Orig Owner

kjo

Look for rust if there is none look for rust.....I'm new to Datsuns also just got my new 71 240z in july not running....sitting 3years

runs now very very little of the r word to speak of... :-) ... havent driven it yet ... maybe in the next 2 weeks . If the body is clean and it runs well your ahead of the game..... good luck... Dave

Be really carefull about the floor pan of the car some cars have rusted there so bad that holes will form. Places you might look at are the floor, lower parts of the fenders, rear hatchback and in the engine bay.

Listen for any knocking noises on a test drive.

About the miles on the car, the Datsun's odometer resets after 99,999 miles. Since it doesn't have a spot for 100,000 it may have gone over once maybe even twice. But scince he is your friend then you should trust him on that.

I've been through a lot looking for a Z after my first was trashed in March. I found one where it looked like a good deal, but when I had a mechanic who knew a lot about z's looked at it he tolded me that there were more then 100,000 mile+ added to the car that the seller didn't mention. Luckily I didn't buy because of that so be careful.

Ask about maintance one the car, many cars can be neglected and hoses might be old and gauges might not work right so make sure to ask.

Sounds like a good buy. Good luck

Have gotten more info on the car.

Yes he is really the original owner he has EVERYTHING with regard to paperwork that he bought the car new in 1971. He is an older fella with some other cars as well. He does have proof of under 80,000 original miles.

NO RUST WHATSOEVER CAR CHECKS OUT CLEAN

has a new mastercylinder, no dents in body has only been painted once since new and is the same color, cracked dash of course and a few guages don't work

So of course I am going to buy it

but now the big question is how much can I get for it after I fix the little things

1971 240z 77,934 ORIGINAL MILES !!!!