IGNORED

Barn find 73 in North Alabama

outlawswine

Hey guys. I'm new to the Z car world. I inherited a "barn find" '73 240 this week. 
It was my grandfathers and it has been tucked away in his barn for 25 years. I had actually forgotten about the car. Anyway, it is mine now and I'm trying to figure out what to do with it. Should I restore it or just sell it. I don't have a tremendous amount of time to work on it so I'm kind of torn on what to do.

It is completely all original. Interior is in good shape (needs a good cleaning). It only has 35k original miles and only a few spots of surface rust. I gave it a wash and it looks pretty solid. Planning on pulling the plugs tonight to be sure the engine will rotate. 
Anyway, looking forward to chatting with you guys.

Here she is all cleaned up.....

20190203_120857.jpg

• Like 2

Always nice when a 240z drops into your lap,  it looks good.  So you're thinking about restoring it or selling it, if you sell it as is you will get less for it than if you put in some time and money and get it running well, making sure all the lights, signals, horns etc are working properly.  Also, try and find as much original paper work on the car as you can.

• Like 1

43 minutes ago, outlawswine said:

It was my grandfathers and it has been tucked away in his barn for 25 years.

It only has 35k original miles and only a few spots of surface rust........... Planning on pulling the plugs tonight to be sure the engine will rotate. 

Very nice.  Somewhere around here there is a good writeup of things you should do before even trying to rotate the engine.  Surprising amounts of water can condense in a cold engine and surprising amounts of rust can happen on what should be dry metal.  Maybe somebody knows where that list is and will post a link.