IGNORED

Round Tops Fuel Systems

NVZEE

They look like what ZCD is selling. There’s facebook discussion that this is basically the later flat top SU with a round dome that gets away from the stigma associated with it.

Edited by NVZEE

While there may be similarities to some of the updated functions that the old flat tops provided, these brand new carbs have nothing in common with them.

These look like an excellent alternative to our old SU's. Seems to have the best of all the features you could ask for in a constant velocity carb. Brand new, modern support and parts availability being right up there with the design improvements. 

Slightly unrelated... Last year when I did a full fuel system cleaning, tank lining and hose replacement with E85 rated lines I also asked ZTherapy about E85 fuel with their rebuilds and they told me that they ran a soak test a few years ago and saw no ill effects. I have no personal experience since I've run nothing but non-ethanol fuel since the fuel system refresh.

Yeah, those are the HIF series. Basically round tops with integral float chamber, and some other improvements.

From http://sucarb.co.uk/technical-carburetter-maintenance-settings-hif:

The type HIF (Horizontal Integral Float Chamber) carburetter has been designed primarily to meet the requirements of exhaust emission control carburation systems. Functionally similar to previous S.U carburetters, the HIF uses the variable choke/constant depression principle to achieve the precise induction of mixture required to control the toxic elements of exhaust emission to within statutory requirements.

I wonder what needles they come with. Was that mentioned somewhere and I missed it?

Haha!  It's a LOT vague!

There was a guy on zcar.com who was recently trying to adapt a pair of HIF6 carbs off an old Volvo onto his 260. He was using BCL needles. There are also recommendations out there for BCA, BCE, and BBZ.