IGNORED

K & N AIR FILTER

jalexquijano

Read the ad!!

K&N Performance Air Filter, 73-74 240Z-260Z

K&N Performance Air Filter, 73-74 240Z-260Z

Description:
This is a great upgrade to the stock air filter for late 240Z's, 260Z's, or any Z that is running the Hitachi (flat top) carburetors and the stock 73-74 housing. This filter measures 2 inches thick as shown above. 

Model Guide:
Datsun 240Z, 260Z 

Code Guide:
Datsun S30 

Year Guide:
1973, 1974 
Edited by siteunseen

3 hours ago, grannyknot said:

Don't waste your money, unless your paper filter is clogged the K&N isn't going to do anything but let very fine sand into the cylinders.

I've had K&N air filters on my Porsche for 25 years and live in a desert.  Hopefully, the cylinders aren't half full of fine sand :)

Dennis

I am an automotive engineer at Ford Performance.  About 15 years ago when K&N filters were all the rage, we tested K&N filters as well as various paper filters for both flow and filtration abilities.  The stock Ford high performance paper filters flowed better and did a much better job catching fine particles than the K&N filters.  We didn't do this testing to prove how good we are, we did it because if the K&N tested better, we would have sourced them.

Our 526 HP, 8250 RPM GT350 uses a paper filter because it breathes better.  A K&N filter relies on oil to catch the dust and if the filter has too much or too little oil, it will either choke flow or allow debris to pass through.  No thanks...  BTW, you don't see desert racers or off road motorcycles used K&N filters either.

As for K&N's making more power, they are almost always paired with a cold air intake which does indeed make more power than a restrictive OE airbox.  Then again, try passing any kind of water fording testing with a cold air intake and see how long the engine lasts.  Aftermarket intakes are great, but they come with caveats.

• Like 1

6 hours ago, grannyknot said: