IGNORED

JIS 316 Stainless and Plated Hardware

davework

Hi all, I am new here, but interested in the group's feedback on whether our new offerings may be valuable to the Z community.

I've been offering bolt kits to the Toyota crowd for about 6 years.  We recently expanded our manufacturing to include A4 (316) stainless JIS sized hardware, as well as customizing our carbon steel yellow zinc and gold cadmium plated hardware.

We lab test everything here in Colorado to confirm everything is class 10.9 (carbon steel) and class 70 (stainless) strength.

I've poked around a little on the Z forums and did locate references to JIS hardware kits, and I don't see any offerings in A4 (316) stainless.

One of the main reasons we started this was to provide true JIS sized hardware, this means 10mm, 12mm, and 14mm wrench sizes on hex bolts and nuts.  Do your Zs use these small JIS wrench sizes?  If so, I am hoping there could be some nice crossover to what we've developed.

Please take a look at the website for more details: https://www.overlandmetric.com/collections/bulk-nuts-bolts-screws

Any feedback welcome!  Thanks all.

MudPic.JPG

I'd be interested in a zinc or cadmium plated kit, and imagine many others would be too.  Stainless is nice and all, but doesn't it interact with some other metals in an undesirable way, and have less tensile strength than regular steel?

• Like 1

16 hours ago, davework said:

Any feedback welcome!  

The cross-reference table (Toyota PN vs. fastener spec) in your 'Research' page is a nice feature.  If you move into Nissan country with your offerings, I'm sure that owners would enjoy a similar table for our cars.

I'm curious about how/why you're able to offer cad plating (vs. yellow zinc plating).  I thought that real cad plating had been banned just about everywhere because of environmental risks to groundwater.