IGNORED

Rear carb running super rich. HELP

Hey guys, just want to start this off by saying that I am a total side draft noob, and the only thing I know is what I've read over the last few months on places like this.

Anyways,

I've been fighting an issue with my SU's. I thought I was just doing a crappy job at tuning them, but it turns out the rear carb is running super rich a full up. It's so rich the exhaust smell burns your eyes. It makes it very dangerous to drive, as the smell fills the car.

What I've done so far:

-I've reset both needles in the pistons, and filled them with fresh fluid.

-Check the chokes to make sure the jet tube was moving up and down freely on BOTH carbs.

-Set float height @ 10mm (specs that came with my rebuild kits)

-Replaced Needle & Seat (both carbs)

I'm sure I missed something I'll remember in a minute...

I've determined it's the rear carb by running the screws full up, (you can hear it running very rough on what seems like half of the engine) where it should have stalled. Cupping hand over the front carb causes the idle to increase slightly before dropping back down, telling me it's lean as it should be. Cupping hand over the rear carb, the idle drops immediately and the motor starts to stall. Obviously that tells me the rear carb is rich.

I've done a lot of research, I feel I've been very thorough but obviously I'm missing an important step somewhere. I've spent the last 6 hours (I'm not even exaggerating) trying to track this down. If someone could help point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it, this is my DD and gets me back and forth to work everyday. It sucks I can't enjoy it right now!

You need to verify by checking plugs too. Are the rear three sooty or fouled?

They are all sooty and black. In trying to balance the carbs, I ended up running the front carb a little rich as well. This was before I realized I had one just one carb richer then the other. The rear plugs are obviously much nastier then the front.