IGNORED

Transmission Help--4th not working

ZohanIsBack

Hey guys, need a bit of help. I have a 74 260z with an auto transmission. The tranny shifts great, but will not slip into 4th gear. It's literally as simple as that. No weird noises, no grinding. As far I can tell, 1-3 feels brand new.

So my question is whether or not there is a typical problem and solution to fix this, or if the entire tranny is bad? If it is as simple as replacing a bearing or making an adjustment, I'll drop it myself and replace the part. If not, should I get a new tranny or take it in to a shop? One thing I suspect is that this car was dragged at some point because it has triple weber carbs, straight pipes, oil circulator, and direct tank-engine fuel lines (the mechanical pump isn't even being used). Would the guy have removed 4th (IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE?). Anyway, thanks guys!

A quick look at the FSM indicates the the 74 260Z came with a 3 speed automatic. Although, I am new to Z world and could be wrong.

I believe that most older cars came with 3 speeds. But I did have a 1963 Pontiac Bonneville, in 1980, with a 4 speed automatic and a 389. It hauled a@@ for a big car.

-_- And I thought it had four gears. Dangit.....I feel like an idiot now. So it IS working just fine. So my RPMs stay at around 3000 if I want to go 60, but the freeways where I live are 75, and that takes me up to like...3800 RPMs. So that leaves me with two more quick questions:

1. Is it okay to run 8 hours driving at 3800 RPMs?

2. The car heats up to about 230 degrees if I maintain 3800 RPMs. Is this normal? Should I upgrade to keep the engine cooler?

I just have to drive this from Montana to western Washington, but am I stuck going like 60 the whole way?

Drive it any speed you can get away with. The L- engines will run all day at most any RPM you choose to drive. The 1 to 2 RPM to speed ratio (3000 to 60)is what a 4-speed manual tranny would produce. Drive it at 80. It's a lot more fun there....