IGNORED

delrin/aluminum tension rod kit

mlc240z

installing the delrin/aluminum/rubber bushing kit for the tension rods.

everything fits well, but does anyone have a hint on installing the black boots that are supplied?

do they just fit flush 'into' the cups attached to the frame?

i would think they are supposed to fit over the cups to help seal the assembly and prevent dirt/water from entering and prematurely wearing the delrin.

if this is true, any tips to getting the edge of the boot over the cup since it's pretty tight in there (heat until more pliable, maybe).

thanks

• 5 years later...

Sorry to bring up a really old thread, but I'm looking for thoughts on this kit. First off, I have been using poly bushings on my tension rods for about three years. Somehow the nut came off the back of the tension rod on the drivers side, and I lost the backside bushing, big concave washer and the nut. I now need to either go with this kit, or go with another set of bushings. Either way, I need to source that concave washer. I can go the easy route with a bushing kit from NAPA that has the big washer, and everything else I need. Should be a quick and easy install.

However, I don't mind trying the MSA kit if it makes the car less twitchy. I imagine it won't, but thought I'd see if anyone had noticed improvements. What I mean by twitchy is highway behavior. It isn't bad, but its not a car the wife can nap in while on a long trip. It's just too jittery at highway speed. I have Eibach springs, with KYB inserts and poly bushings all around. Stock front sway bar, and no rear bar. I'm thinking this kit might let the control arm move vertically. With really stiff bushings on the tension rod, I think a vertical force on the rod would get partly translated into a horizontal force and back into the frame and also into the steering knuckle, thus making the car jittery at speed.