IGNORED

78 280Z Alternator question

kutukutu1

Hello, 

I am new to the z world, but I've always loved this cars, i could just never afford one. 

Finally got one and apart from some electrical issues i am working through, the car has potential, i am confused on the alternator schematic.

What i have circled in red, is that the T connector i keep reading about?

Also, looking at my alternator, the connections on it look nothing like the schematic, all i see is a single wire running to it.

ill post a picture of it when i get home.

Capture.PNG

Edited by kutukutu1

1 hour ago, kutukutu1 said:

Hello, 

I am new to the z world, but I've always loved this cars, i could just never afford one. 

Finally got one and apart from some electrical issues i am working through, the car has potential, i am confused on the alternator schematic.

What i have circled in red, is that the T connector i keep reading about?

Also, looking at my alternator, the connections on it look nothing like the schematic, all i see is a single wire running to it.

ill post a picture of it when i get home.

Where did you read about the T connector? Context is everything. 

Many people have modified their Z cars. One popular conversion is the "one wire GM alternator". You would need to provide a part number/markings on the alternator to confirm.

The wires you have circled are the Sense and Lamp wires. The Sense wire tells the alternator what the voltage is in the system. While the Lamp wire compares the output of the alternator to the system voltage. If the output is low, the lamp lights.

2 hours ago, kutukutu1 said:

apart from some electrical issues i am working through, the car has potential,

Does the engine run?  Does the alternator charge?  Or are you just examining your non-running new project?  There should be two wires, but some of the aftermarket alternators use one.  Maybe yours is not stock.

36 minutes ago, Zed Head said: