IGNORED

Rebuilding The Nikki Fuel Pump

motivealloy

Hey gang,

I am going to share with you what I've done to rebuild a 240z fuel pump with great success. This is also (for the time being) an inexpensive solution to rebuilding an original Nikki 240-260Z mechanical fuel pump.

What I have learned so far is; rebuild kits for our old fuel pumps have not been available in American for some time now. They are available in Australia and maybe Canada but importing them here isn't cost effective. Original NOS 240Z Nikki fuel pumps are extremely expensive, and the aftermarket fuel pumps look like crap. There are electric fuel pumps available cheap but they require wiring and fuel pressure regulators and I think they are unsightly.

My background is in international manufacturing. The one thing i know about intl mfg is that a lot of parts suppliers HATE making 10 or 15 versions of the same damn part. So what they implement is, what is called in the manufacturing industry as, "part uniformity" or "part sharing". The term is exactly as it implies. Multiple similar items will share some of the same basic parts. This cuts down on overburdening the manufacturing process. It is far more cost effective and easier to pump out 100,000 of the same part than 1000 each of 100 slightly different versions of the same part.

Japan is notorious for using this philosophy in it's auto industry. It was only about 10 years ago that US auto makers adopted part uniformity in their assembly lines.

Okay, with that being said I began to do a little research on our Nikki fuel pumps. And voila, exactly as i suspected!! Nikki used the same exact castings and rubber gaskets in it's fuel pumps it supplied for many models of Datsun autos.

What am I getting at with this primer you may ask? Simple, Nikki fuel pump parts from different cars are swappable.

Here is a photo of an NOS 240Z Nikki fuel pump. They cost about $175 to $225 for an NOS example.

NOS-240Z.JPG?psid=1