IGNORED

Replacing Air Compressor Pressure Switch - New Switch has Different Turn on/Turn off pressures

inline6

My trusty compressor developed a problem with its pressure switch.  The contact started sticking and the compressor kept running even when the tank pressure exceeded the cut off pressure.  I've had it for about 27 years, and used it a fair amount given I am just a hobbyist.  I am too lazy to get a picture of it, but it is this same model - though I think it was branded under Campbell Hausfeld:

601-1.jpg

So the switch - I went online looking for replacements.  The original switch had the model "DAC-278-1"  with number 140 and 175 which apparently indicate the turn off psi and turn off psi.  Since I bought it new... for 27 years, it turned on around 120 psi and turned off at 155 psi.  Tonight, the $18.95 replacement arrived and I installed it.  Here is the one I bought:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00273R6KU?psc=1&ref=ppx_pop_dt_b_product_details

Interestingly, this switch kicks the compressor motor on at about 145 psi and turns it off at about 175 psi.  And this one, has screws to allow adjustment to the turn on and turn off points.  

My question is this, is it harder on the compressor to utilize 145/175 instead of 120/155?  It seems logical that to get to 175, it has to run longer than to get to 155.  But, if it kicks in at a higher pressure also, maybe it ends up running the same amount of time when air is not being used?  And then, there is reality - I consume air while it is running quite often, like for sand blasting or glass bead blasting.  And pretty much all of my tools are limited to 90 psi...  So, is it wasteful or unnecessary to run 145/175?

For what its worth, my lines are cast iron pipe and the water separator and regulator are rated for 200 psi max, the hose is rated sufficiently high enough, etc.   

Edited by inline6