IGNORED

What is the theory behind the brake adjustment?

Cooper260z

Hello again. I’m new to Z cars and trying to learn about how they work. 

I’ve done some Research and come to the conclusion that I probably adjusted the drums incorrectly when I replaced all the parts. I’ve been reading about how when properly adjusted the drums shouldn’t turn much at all? This contradicts how I’ve been adjusting drums on other cars so could someone explain why this is how it’s done? 

The new wheel cylinders I installed did not actuate the star wheel to adjust the brakes when I got them so I played around with them and got them to adjust the brakes by pulling the parking brake, but was worried that they’d adjust out so far that the drum would just get stuck, and if it gets stuck with the adjustment hole not at the star wheel then how are you supposed to get the drum off? 
And if the proper spec is for the shoes to be tight against the drum then how do the shoes not get wasted quickly by rubbing when you aren’t even touching the brakes?

I've found information on how people say to adjust the brakes, but not why that works, so I apologize if this has been discussed before but I couldn’t find it. And again, that process just goes against my previous experiences, so I’d love to know why these cars are different. 

The parking brake adjustment mechanism is designed such that it will not tighten the drums so far that the shoes rub.  Pulling the handle moves the shoes, but the adjustment wheel only moves when the shoes get out far enough to get the arm over the next tooth on the wheel.  After it goes over the tooth the arm drops back enough, in to the valley between the teeth, to let the shoe fall back slightly.  The adjustment arm moves up and down in the valley between the teeth every time you pull the handle until the shoes wear enough to get over the top of the next one.