IGNORED

Stumbling 240Z with Arizona Z car intake and Holly 390

Zaspen

I just picked up my first 240Z in 20 years and this one has a Arizona Z Car intake with the Holley 390 CFM 4 barrel carb.  The car has a noticeable stumble off idle and a lack of low end.  It seems to do OK at higher RPMs but it seems sluggish compared to what I remember my old Z to be.  I've read a lot on this site about the AZ/Holley combo and it seems that some love it and some hate it.  Are there any tuning tips for this set up?  I have no experience with the holley carb so I don't know where to start.  Previous owner said it has been performing that way since install.  I would like to put SUs back on but its financially not in the cards now.  Thanks for any help!

Not really enough to go on.  Unknown engine, Holley 390, AZC manifold.  Is it the stock L24 engine?  Is the cam stock?  Cam timing,  ignition timing, etc. all can affect performance.  Get as much technical info together about your parts as you can, and check the settings against the specifications.  It might just need a thorough tune-up.

Here's a link to some service manuals.  Links are on the right - https://www.classiczcars.com/files/

Welcome.

Stock L24 engine.  Per the service records / previous owner it had plugs/cap/wires and a valve adjust in the last 5K miles and it has an electronic ignition installed.  I still need to verify the timing and also compression.

Edited by Zaspen

IMO, the first thing to check is the accelerator pump in the Holley. With the engine off and the air filter removed look down into the carb. and operate the throttle linkage. There should be a visible squirt of fuel. I'd also verify the float level is correct.