IGNORED

Diagnosing fuel system issue

the_tool_man

Hi all:

First post, so go easy on me. I don't own a Z yet. But I'm going to look at one (a '77 280) that may become available for sale. Current owner says he let the car sit for a couple of years, and the fuel went bad. He drained the tank and refilled with good gas. The car will start, but won't run for long before shutting off. He says it starts right back up and then dies again.

He and I discussed, and theorize that there is crud (probably rust) in the tank getting sucked into the tank outlet screen and clogging it.  If that theory is right, I assume the tank needs to be cleaned out, and maybe coated to prevent rust.  I'm only beginning to learn about these cars.  So I don't know what else to look for.  It seems that the fuel pump works, and the engine otherwise has spark, or it wouldn't start at all.

I'm going to look at the car on Saturday. I plan to take a fuel pressure gauge, starting fluid and a spare fuel filter. What else could be wrong that can be tested without too much trouble?  I'm hoping for an easy fix if he decides to sell it to me.

Thanks in advance,

John.

Edited by the_tool_man

For sure put the new fuel filter on and see how long it runs. If it stays running you can bet the fuel turned to "varnish" and is causing the intermittent running. You should use that as a bargaining point  if he's not a close friend.

Once you get the car you should install a fram g3 clear filter right out of the tanks supply hose, before the pump. You can see if it gets crudded up fairly quick. Maybe running some new gas a few times through the system will clean it out without dropping the tank.