IGNORED

Help me understand the AAR please.

siteunseen

I'm pretty sure mine is toasted. I'm going to a junkyard that has 3 old Z's and want to know if I know how to check if they're good. Does the whole thing turn, electrical connector and all? Or does the connector stay and the 1/2" x 2" long metal strip with the wires wrapped around it turn by itself? I put the metal strip in a vise and it won't budge. Put 12 volts to it for at least 5 minutes and still no movement. The only way I see it could turn is where the connection slides in the housing. So if I find one that the electrical connection turns slightly to the right while in the housing would that mean it's probably good? Sorry for any confusion, I'm not too good at 'splainin things.

Thanks for any replies. Cliff

post-24724-14150820580175_thumb.jpg

post-24724-14150820580838_thumb.jpg

post-24724-14150820581456_thumb.jpg

So it doesn't turn at all, it bends to the right or left. Thanks Blue!

Bi-metal slowly rotates to a position that can no longer operate shutter

AAR gets gunked up by oily engine fumes that are re-circulated.

Electrical connections to AAR corrode and stop conducting.

AAR suffers mechanical failure due to bi-metal lever rotation.

Edited by siteunseen

Wow, what a difference that made. I found one on a ZX that looked good (the hood had been kept closed) and when I was cleaning it up I noticed the connection plug was at an angle where mine was level. Also there is a rolled pin in the ZX AAR that keeps the metal strip and the connection from turning like mine had done.

Mine came apart like yours did when I tried to take the connector off. If you got a good one from a ZX, it should swap right in. You could have "calibrated" your broken one by clocking the piece that came out, and testing with a battery and some jumper wires until it opened and closed correctly, then using epoxy or similar to lock it in place, but it's simpler to just get a used one and clean it up.