IGNORED

Got new rims... bolts/studs too short!

Decoy12

Hello everyone... I am a newbie and this is my first post. Basically I bought slotted mags for my 240. I had bought some before, but they were 13'' and i wanted to stick with the 14''. So the other day, my father borrowed my Z and he ran over a screw and got a flat tire. I had to replace the tires anyway, so i got the slot mags and caps, along with good tires. I was all excited because I have not driven it in a week and i thought I'd be driving it to work tomorrow. So I got the tire off and found out the bolts/studs were too short!! :stupid: I was wondering if anyone knows how I can fix it and if about how much it will cost ( I get paid tomorrow, but I borrowed money to buy the wheels today!) :mad: :cry:

You will need to install longer wheel bolts. That means you need to remove your wheels and the front hubs (good time to repack your bearings) and most likely hammer or press the existing bolts out before inserting newer and longer ones. Remember to get ones with the same pitch as the existing ones (take a nut with you to verify this at the auto parts store).

The stock wheel studs should be long enough to mount 14" slotted mags. Perhaps you simply have the wrong lug nuts. On standard slotted mags the stock wheel studs will only extend past the wheel face a fraction of an inch. The lug nuts then extend inside the wheel thickness.

The lug nuts should have a shoulder on them, that is just short of sticking though the thickness of the aluminum wheel.

Unless of course you are using wheels with the wrong off-set and require thick spacers.

Post a picture of what you have...

Edited by Carl Beck

The stock wheel studs should be long enough to mount 14" slotted mags. Perhaps you simply have the wrong lug nuts. On standard slotted mags the stock wheel studs will only extend past the wheel face a fraction of an inch. The lug nuts then extend inside the wheel thickness.