IGNORED

Low compresson

v4vAnimalMother

I have 74 260z. Last fall just before I was about to put her into storage it blew the water pump. Anyways I put her into storage early with plans on replacing it after Xmas and a new roof.

Anyways, I did a compression test last night and came up with these numbers:

1# - 100

2# - 100

3# - 105

4# - 107

5# - 105

6# - 100

Is it just me or are these really low? I'm not a mechanic, just starting to learn as much as I can. I do have a backyard mechanic helping me though that said the numbers were good because they were close to the same but after reading through other posts I think they should be around 150. If so what should be my next move?

First thing.....adjust your valves to .008 intake .010 exhaust. Then do another test.....if you don't get an increase in compression, you have somewhat of a problem. True, no cylinder should be 15% off of another, but 100 lbs. is too low. Probably needs rings. Should be reading 160 or so. Good luck!

Your backyard mechanic is somehow right, the wear on your engine is equal on all cylinders, try to add a squirt of oil in to the cylinders and make a new compression test, if the numbers goes up, you have worn rings, there is much more in to this, more than i will try to explain in another native than my own, others might want to chime in.

Chris

Compression testers (especially cheap ones) shouldn't be used to measure the pressure in a cylinder accurately. They really should be used to compare one cylinder to another as your friend said. What you have there looks good to me, if there aren't other problems I'd drive it, and if there are I'd suggest a leakdown test.