IGNORED

Fuel injected to carb swap?

zalex

I've been searching these forums and google to find a basic efi to carb "how to" type thing, but I must be missing it. I'm a beginner, so a point in the right direction towards a website or a basic checklist would help.

My story is my head was warped off my 1978 280z, so I was given a decent head, e88, for a 1972 240z. I have it installed, finding out the fuel injected manifold won't fit, I've decided to use the parts I was also given to convert it to carbed, stock carbs and manifold, airbox.

Do I need a new fuel pump or just a regulator? Do I need a different computer, or do carbs not use one? Is there anything else I need?

I've been searching these forums and google to find a basic efi to carb "how to" type thing, but I must be missing it. I'm a beginner, so a point in the right direction towards a website or a basic checklist would help.

My story is my head was warped off my 1978 280z, so I was given a decent head, e88, for a 1972 240z. I have it installed, finding out the fuel injected manifold won't fit, I've decided to use the parts I was also given to convert it to carbed, stock carbs and manifold, airbox.

Do I need a new fuel pump or just a regulator? Do I need a different computer, or do carbs not use one? Is there anything else I need?

Carbs don't use a ECU (computer). I'm pretty positive you'll need a new fuel pump. EFI requires high PSI level (can't remember exact number but it's 25+ PSI for sure) to run properly while carbs need like 2 PSI.

You'll properly also need a new fuel filter, the 280z ones are designed for high PSI.

That's all I can think of but let others weigh in because I'm more than likely forgetting things.

Okay, my friend is giving me a part that goes bolts onto the head, near the timing chain, on the passenger side (for lack of a better way to express the side). Is that the fuel filter?

That is the mechanical fuel pump......you'll need the eccentric for the front of the cam.