IGNORED

advice on bore and pistons?

saridout

i've miced my cylinders, and the bore on the whole block ranges from 3.3855" to 3.3895", with seemingly no pattern as to which diameter is where. i've never done this before, so please forgive me for asking: is this enough to determine whether i can use standard pistons or not? i'm going to scan the full list of readings and post it soon if more info is necessary.

i've been finding some conflicting info about the L28 standard bore. my fsm says that standard is up to 86.050mm, but a piston source i'm looking to buy from says that their standard bore piston is 86.1mm in diameter.

lastly, does anyone have any horror stories about black dragon pistons or ITM pistons, or should i not have any problem with either?

edit: also, new photos in my flickr set. enjoy!

Edited by saridout

that's not the part that i misunderstood. as i said above, i've looked in my fsm, and i'm trying to find out why some retailers say that 86.1 diameter is standard, when the fsm says that maximum standard is 86.050. the piston brand i'm looking at is ITM. i'm sorry if this seems like a stupid question, but i've never rebuilt an engine before and i don't know any better.

"i've miced my cylinders, and the bore on the whole block ranges from 3.3855" to 3.3895",