IGNORED

New discovery; the story of solid/chrome Z emblem

kats

Hello everyone,

Today I want to share this short story about solid/chrome Z emblem.

I recently wrote an article for the CLUB S30(Japanese club) about solid/chrome Z emblem which I have been collecting since 2000.

Mr.Matsuo is an honorary member of this club, he read my article then he told us very interesting story which was previously not unveiled.

Can you guess the reason of making the chrome Z emblem?

Can you guess the reason of making the solid Z/Datsun emblem?

kats

I would guess they made them solid and with a chrome Z initially because the molds were simpler to make than the indentations required for the white painted Z and the hollow back. They probably stopped making them solid to save on weight and material (expense). Maybe they went to the white Z to make the Z stand out more, so people would see it as a Z car and not specifically a 240Z? HLS30-00032 has solid chrome Zs on the quarter panels and a solid Datsun hatch emblem. The 240Z hatch emblem also has a chrome Z, but it is hollow. Have you ever seen a solid 240z hatch emblem Kats? Also, did they make Fairlady Z emblems that had chrome Zs or that were solid?

-Mike

My guess:

The master positive wasn't completely ready when the first emblems were needed, so they finished up the absolutely necessary details(mounting pins), and made a set of temporary molds for use until the master positive could be finished and a master mold made- and put into use.

Will

Kats, I would guess that only a limited number of these early emblems were produced initially because a final design decision had not yet been made. Another thought that comes to mind, would be the transition of production of the emblems, from a design studio to a mass production vendor.

I'm sure that there will be a different explanation for each emblem, complete with a personal flair. I look forward to the answer.

Edited by geezer