IGNORED

Fan blades 7 vs 8

Ed

IMO Given everything else remaining equal, more blades will move more air.

I believe that my fan (72) is also a 7 blade. It could be that as part of the remedy for the fuel vaporlock problems that were encountered w/ 73 240Z's, Nissan offered an uprated fan along with the electric fuel pump, insulation wraps to mitigate the problems. Could also be that a P.O. installed the "wrong" fan for a 1973 car.

MSA and Vic Brit list one plastic fan for 72-73, and a different plastic fan for 74-78 Z cars.

The 8 blade fan was part of the recall to cure the vapor lock problems with the 73's.

Either one will work fine with a 3 or 4 row radiator. They'd work a lot better with a stock 2 row if you had a fan shroud.

I doubt there's enough gain with the 8 versus 7 to make much difference, the biggest difference would be either a larger radiator core or a shroud.

I race R/C Boats (Nitro) and although I am a completely RANK amateur, I have learned that the different props one can use (2 and more blades) are usually graded based on the diameter and the pitch AND the amount of "wake turbulence" that a given prop will have at a certain RPM.

That's part of the reason why a more powerful engine won't necessarily go to a bigger prop, but rather a smaller with more pitch, because that allows the motor to max out the RPM curve.

Then you get into the curves of the blades from up by the shaft to the outer edge AND the curve from the leading edge (the edge that is actually biting into the medium) to the trailing edge.