IGNORED

Diesel maxima crankshaft

hf240z

i bought a 72 240 last christmas. the motor is not that good anymore. so i am thinking of rebuilding one.

i heard somebody said that a maxima diesel crankshaft is good. i want to know why(please), what year maxima, what are the other parts that should go with it, how will i know if the crank is from a diesel if the block is not there anymore(taking the motor out in the junk yard is very laborious). So i am thinking hunting for it at the swapmeet.

i am no mechanic, nor engine builder, But... i can tell you that there is an article in the new SportZ magazine on the very subject. Just got it yesterday, and haven't read it, but i know its a 3.1 stroker that uses the diesel maxima crank. FWIW..

as a side note, anyone who loves Z cars should have a subscription- my favorite (and only) magazine!

Unless this is something you "just have to have" I would advise you to find plenty of money and a darn good engine shop. This is not just a bolt in job. It is very involved with the machine work needed( and it needs to be done right) and the price of the engine will soon be in the thousands.

A professionally built stroker (3.1) will cost in the neighborhood of $7,500. The author of the article in Sport Z did it for under $4,000. This was a "budget build-up", so as you can see it may be nice, but is it worth it to you??

A good remanufactured L-28 will cost you about $2,000 and will give you a significant increase in power over a stock L-24. Then you can modify the L-28 as your budget dictates and still save a lot of money over a 3.1 stroker. In my opinion this is the best option.

To make use The crank you are going to need the following:

L-28 block from 280ZXT

E-31 or E-88 or E-90 head

9mm rods out of L-24 block

special pistons (see note)

Special head gasket

The best machine shop you can find.

Lots of money and luck.

High pressure oil pump

New cam

Head porting and poishing

Engine blueprinted and balanced