IGNORED

Bringing back the RedZ

DaveR

Hello all, been preparing and searching for a 240z for the past year or so, and finally pulled the trigger. I am in Milford, CT, and have met a few of the local Z enthusiasts at a meet earlier in 2015.  I am a mechanical engineer, and come from the world of Subarus, my 2005 STI has been with me since early 2006. First car I bought myself out of college, and learned everything I know so far working on it. I probably won't keep it too much longer, with a family in the future (I am 31) and it not being terribly practical now that I have the Z for my project/fun car. It's in terrific shape, and hopefully the Z takes its place in my heart so I can let it go.

IMG_2316.jpg

I now own HLS30-27581. Manual 240Z, 905 Red with 29000 original miles on it. I am the second owner, the original owner living outside of Chicago, after receiving the car as a graduation present from his parents afer completing college. The car has been in storage since 1981, but comes to me in phenomenal body condition. This is exactly what I was after, as I am very mechanically inclined, but do not yet have the skill or equipment needed to do extensive body work. Some day I will repaint it, but as far as I can tell that is a long way away and I may never need to.  I specifically wanted Red, and was very impressed with the quality of the paint.  There might be some evidence of touching up here and there, but I have a hard time believing it was ever fully repainted. If it was, they did a pretty good job in my opinion.

IMG_20151114_090154951_HDR.jpg
IMG_20151114_090203414.jpg
IMG_2300.jpg
IMG_2305.jpg
IMG_2304.jpg
IMG_2345.jpg
IMG_2295.jpg

Because of its long duration in storage, it needs a bit of mechanical work to get things running smoothly again. I will spend the winter going through each of the systems fully (hopefully with everyone here's help) and plan to be on the road in the spring with it humming nicely.