IGNORED

77 280Z Stored for 10 Years and Running when garaged

azuka

I bought this car on a whim last fall from 'the original owner.' Well, that's not exactly accurate. The original owner died unexpectedly in 2001 and her husband just wasn't into driving his wife's baby so he stored it in a pole barn. Ten years later, he had to sell his home, etc. and had to unload this car. I'd wanted an early Z car for many years, but could never justify it. So I bought this one, towed it home and with the help of a backyard mechanic got it in running condition.... sort of.

The seller said the car had never been driven in winters and was mostly a weekend trip kind of car. Said that the 39,500 miles on the odometer was accurate, and NOT 139,500. I have no way of verifying this of course. Looking at condition of rubber pads covering the brake, gas, and clutch pedals, it doesn't look like they have extensive wear, and looks about right for the mileage on the car.

I'm no mechanic, but my friend is not going to be doing any more work on my cars. Either I'll do the work or I'll have a real mechanic do it. At any rate, the car isn't quite right yet. Biggest problem is that the idle will drop to nothing and stall out at stop signs and lights etc. I suspect the culprit to be varnish deposits caused by my idiot friends who did NOT listen to me when I said all fluids must be drained before running the engine.

Right now, April 14, 2013, the car is driveable if you can tolerate the idling issue (I can't!) The brake light is on too now and I'm pretty sure I've located the leak, another present from my backyard mechanic. I took it to my local real mechanic yesterday to address that issue as well as the idle problem.